On Being Responsible (9 Tips Towards Empowerment)

Katrina Murphy Coaching
6 min readFeb 18, 2021

It’s interesting that we live in a society that is preoccupied with fault, blame and deferral of responsibility. Then when people seem to be stuck, they don’t understand why.

Here’s the thing: Nothing is going to change until you DECIDE.

And within that decision to make choices to change your reality, lies a pivotal piece of the puzzle: “responsibility”.

So if you are stuck in your story, comfortable playing the victim or ready to blame the rest of the world for your life…

…how’s that workin’ for ya?

My life was transformed when I ended the blame game. When I shifted my mindset from victim to being fully responsible for everything that I was creating in my life, my sense of empowerment skyrocketed.

And just to clarify…I’m not talking about fault: It’s not your fault that you have trauma or were neglected or had a broken family or that there was abuse in your history…or whatever has happened to you.

But you are 100% responsible for healing and growing from those events.

You’re responsible for every choice you’ve made…

  • to hold onto beliefs that don’t serve you
  • to avoid forgiveness
  • to cultivate anger

--

--

Katrina Murphy Coaching
0 Followers

Helping leaders Master their Emotions & Eliminate Blind Spots, to improve Relationships & Personal Impact. Say no to Burnout with Mindfulness + EI.