HOW TO OVERCOME PERFECTIONISM

Katrina Murphy Coaching
4 min readFeb 1, 2021

It’s amazing how much we don’t actually know about ourselves until we take a closer look in the mirror. Until we somewhat ‘undo’ our lives and go from who we think we are, to move into authenticity.

For years, I was the exact opposite of authentic. I wore a mask that suited whatever occasion presented itself. Noone knew…they thought I had the perfect life.

The reality was that I struggled with perfectionism. I compared myself to everyone and had to (at least look like) things were amazing in my world. I parented like a boss, had dinner parties, excelled in business and generally had the life that people dreamed of.

What they didn’t know is that I was obsessed with details. Consumed by making the good or great, even better. ‘Good’ simply wasn’t good enough and I would re-do, re-write or re-whatever needed to be done until I felt that it was perfect.

The problem is, that it never is perfect.

When you’re a perfectionist, it creates a tremendous amount of stress trying to achieve the unachievable. In addition to this, being a perfectionist is incredibly isolating because you are constantly hiding yourself…hiding behind who you think you should be…and leaving authenticity far behind.

Overcoming perfectionism or giving up perfectionist tendencies can be challenging so you…

--

--

Katrina Murphy Coaching
0 Followers

Helping leaders Master their Emotions & Eliminate Blind Spots, to improve Relationships & Personal Impact. Say no to Burnout with Mindfulness + EI.